The Collection · The Project

It Takes a Village to Digitize a Collection

With a mere 30 hours remaining (!) in my internship, I can’t help but reflect (again) on how quickly this project has flown by.

giphy 3.29.19 PM
When I realized how little time I have left

In the approximately 200 hours on-site, the entire collection has been physically reprocessed and scanned; nearly 900 items have been uploaded to SDSU’s iBase; and nearly 250 items have been assigned metadata. This just leaves about 50 more items to be uploaded, and around 700 items to be assigned metadata!

During this time, I have also: gotten lost in the library countless times; been amazed by the beauty of campus; been frustrated by imperfection; been stumped when information eluded my grasp; toured the secrets of the archives; explored the build IT space; raised a fist of protest; accumulated a variety of imagery from the collection; and constantly doubted if I would ever finish this project in time.

Luckily, I was surrounded by the most wonderful group of individuals possible, who only encouraged me to press on.

IMG_0007

So,  as I begin my final days in the beauty of Love Library and sunny San Diego, I would like to conclude by offering my sincerest gratitude to everyone who has assisted with this project and helped make it a reality.

To the numerous, intelligent friends I have made: it has been a sincere pleasure making your acquaintance, and I look forward to our paths crossing again.

To the student workers who scanned nearly half the collection: if it weren’t for you, I would still be knee-deep in Box 7, crying.

To the information professionals, such as Katie Rombiles and Arel Lucas, who have given sage advice and words of wisdom: your patience is astounding, your knowledge is endless, and your assistance is calming!

To my caring and supportive supervisors, Lisa Lamont and Amanda Lanthorne: thank you for taking a chance on this Hoosier and encouraging me every step of the way.

giphy.gif

Until next time, SCUA and Digital Collections.

Leave a Reply

